Is Seitan A Healthy Meat Substitute In Vegan Diet?

Vegan Diet
Vegan Diet
Vegan Meat
Vegan Meat

Seitan is a popular substitute for meat in a vegan diet; it is made by mixing wheat gluten with water. However, there are concerns about its use for edible purposes as it is entirely made of gluten. It is used as one of the main ingredients in plant-based burgers and other meat substitutes. The purpose of this article is to investigate whether seitan is healthy or not.

What Is Seitan?

Seitan is a vegan meat substitute and it is made from gluten. Seitan is made by kneading wheat flour with water to produce sticky strands of wheat protein. It is then rinsed with water to remove all the starch, and you get a sticky mass of gluten. Keep in mind that it easily absorbs the flavors of other ingredients used in recipes, and this makes it an ideal ingredient like tofu. You can buy readymade seitan from stores, or you can make it at home by mixing vital wheat gluten with water.

Is Seitan Nutritious?

Seitan is made entirely from gluten, and it has incredibly low crabs. This is because most of the starch in the wheat flour is washed away when you prepare it, i.e. a serving of seitan contains 4 grams of carbs.

Listed below are the nutrients contained in a serving of seitan:

  • Protein: 21 grams
  • Calories: 104
  • Carbs: 4 grams
  • Fat:5 grams
  • Calcium: 4% of RDI
  • Copper: 3% of RDI
  • Iron: 8% of RDI
  • Phosphorus: 7% of RDI
  • Selenium: 16% of RDI

It is obvious from the list that the protein content of seitan is almost equal to that of meat. Besides, it is low in carbohydrates and fats and contains minerals.

Since seitan is made from gluten, it is rich in protein, but it is not a complete protein and it does not contain enough lysine, which is one of the 9 essential amino acids. But, this can be overcome by eating lysine-rich plant-based food like beans, lentils, etc.

What Are The Drawbacks Of Seitan?

Seitan is a highly processed plant-based food like refined flour, so it is not considered a whole food. Moreover, seitan is not suitable for those people who have a gluten allergy.

We hope that the details shared above clarified your doubts about seitan and adding it to your vegan diet.